THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF NURSES OF GREAT BRITAIN.

ANNUAL MEETING.

The Annual Meeting of the Grand Council of the National Council of Nurses of Great Britain was held at 39, Portland Place, London, W.1, on Wednesday, November 21st, at

Tea by invitation of the President was served at 3.45

The President, Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, was in the Chair and there were present: Miss M. S. Cochrane, R.R.C., Miss E. M. Musson, C.B.E., R.R.C., LL.D., and Miss A. M. Bushby, Vice-Presidents; Miss E. T. Bickerton, R.R.C., Miss R. E. Darbyshire, R.R.C., Miss M. G. Allbutt, Miss I. Macdonald, Miss G. M. Littleboy, A.R.R.C., Miss E. E. P. MacManus, O.B.E., Directors; Miss S. A. Villiers, J.P., Hon. Secretary, and Miss M. Breay, Hon. Treasurer.

There were also present the following Presidents and Delegates of Leagues and Associations of Nurses:

Matrons' Council of Great Britain.—Miss F. M. Campbell, Miss P. Sanderson, Delegates.

Registered Nurses' Parliamentary Council.—Miss K. A.

Smith, R.R.C., Delegate.

League of St. Bartholomew's Hospital Nurses.—Miss H.
Dey, R.R.C., President; Miss G. Le Geyt, Miss M. E. Hitch, Miss P. Pugh, Delegates.

Leicester Royal Infirmary Nurses' League.—Miss M. F. Hughes, President; Miss M. C. Harris, Delegate.

National Temperance Hospital Nurses' League.-A. S. Marshall, President; Miss E. W. Littlejohn, Delegate. Prince of Wales General Hospital, Tottenham, Nurses' League.—Miss D. M. Moase, Delegate.
L.C.C. School Nurses' Social Union.—Miss E. F. Browns-

don, Miss M. Wilson, Delegates.

Bradford Royal Infirmary Nurses' League.-Miss M. B.

Vickers, Delegate.

Vickers, Delegate.

The College of Nursing.—Miss R. Cox-Davies, C.B.E., R.R.C., President; Miss M. V. Lindall, Miss K. M. Roe, Miss G. V. Hillyers, Miss O. Baggallay, Delegates.

The Association of Hospital Matrons.—Miss D. Finch, R.R.C., Miss H. A. Alsop, Delegates.

League of Royal Waterloo Hospital Nurses.—Miss G. M. Simms, R.R.C., President; Miss B. O. Hill, Delegate.

Mental Hospitals' Matrons' Association.—Miss E. L.

Macaulay, O.B.E., R.R.C., President.

British College of Nurses.—Miss E. J. Haswell, Mrs. Wates, Miss M. M. Ingman, Miss K. M. Latham, R.R.C., Delegates. Infectious Hospitals Matrons' Association.—Miss B. M. West, Miss A. S. Bryson, Delegates.

Nightingale Fellowship. — Dame Alicia Lloyd-Still, D.B.E., R.R.C., President; Hon. Gertrude E. Best, Mrs. L. Seymer, M.A. (Oxon.), Miss D. S. Coode, Miss G. M.

Bowes, Delegates.

Scottish Nurses' Association .- Miss E. Brodie, President. League of Private Nurses.—Miss E. Armstrong, Delegate. Association of Queen's Superintendents.—Miss J. C. Watt, Miss K. E. Harrison, Delegates.

University College Hospital Nurses' League.—Miss J. F. O'Brien, Miss C. Tafe, Miss M. E. Gill, Delegates.

County and County Borough Hospital Matrons' Association.—Miss L. Clark, M.B.E., R.R.C., President; Miss Joan Inglis, Miss G. E. Copeman, Delegates.

Leeds General Infirmary Nurses' League.—Miss M. E. Craven, Miss A. E. Billington, Delegates.

London Hospital League of Nurses.—Miss B. M. Monk, C.B.E., R.R.C., President; Miss M. Parker, Miss B. Cardew, Miss M. McEwan, Delegates.

Nurses' League, St. Mary's Hospital, Paddington.-Miss M. B. Salton, President; Miss E. M. Curling, Delegate.

Middlesex Hospital Nurses' League.—Miss Dorothy Smith. President; Miss M. B. B. Houghton, Delegate.

League of Charing Cross Hospital Nurses.—Miss V. Cater.

Miss C. Keys-Wells, Delegates.

Nurses' League of the Royal Infirmary, Paisley—Miss J. C. Cowie, President; Miss E. E. Monie, Miss E. C. Robb, Delegates.

League of Royal Free Hospital Nurses.—Miss G. M.

Bulman, R.R.C., President; Miss C. Winn, Delegate.

The Bond of the Tenders in the House of the Sick (Fulham Hospital Nurses' League).—Miss B. Ryan and Miss E. Harse, Delegates.

League of Trained Nurses of the Royal Infirmary, Sheffield. -Miss F. M. Allen, Delegate.

Kent County Mental Hospital Nurses' League.-Miss P. Loe, Delegate.

League of Fever Nurses.—Miss W. P. Solomon, R.R.C., President; Miss M. M. Mackie, Miss I. Tulloch, Delegates.

AGENDA.

Minutes.

The Hon. Secretary read the Notice convening the Meeting. The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting were read and confirmed.

CORRESPONDENCE.

Letters of regret at inability to attend were notified as follows :-

Miss Beatrice Kent, Miss M. Reynolds, Miss Jenkinson Bain, Miss M. A. Willcox, Miss B. Allen, Miss Pittman, Miss E. S. Innes, Miss Husband, Miss F. M. Allen, Miss Bullivant, Miss M. Campbell.

THE REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.

The President presented the Report of the Executive Committee, which showed that important work had been successfully accomplished, principally in connection with the inauguration of the Florence Nightingale International Foundation.

Three Leagues of Nurses had been affiliated, bringing

the member associations to 39:—

The League of Fever Nurses.—President, Miss W. P. Solomon, S.R.N., R.R.C., Matron, Colindale Hospital, Hendon, N.W. Delegates: Miss L. Mackie, Matron, Harold Wood Hospital, Essex, and Miss I. Tulloch, Matron, Plaistow Hospital, E.

The Kent County Mental Hospital Nurses' League.—President, Miss E. L. Macaulay, S.R.N., O.B.E., R.R.C., Matron, Kent County Mental Hospital, Maidstone. Delegates: Miss P. Loe and Miss M. Shorten.

The Liverpool Royal Infirmary Training School Nurses' League.—President, Miss Mary Jones, S.R.N., A.R.R.C. Delegates not yet nominated.

Appointment of Presidents.

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Committee. Miss R. A. Cox-Davies, C.B.E., R.R.C., has succeeded Mrs. MacGregor Rome, R.R.C., as President of the College of Nursing; Miss E. L. Macaulay, O.B.E., R.R.C., has succeeded E. M. Cuthbert as President of the Mental Hospital Matrons' Association; Miss E. le Beau has succeeded Miss D. K. Graham as President of the League of Sister Tutors; Miss M. Drakard has succeeded Miss J. Thornton Ruddy as President of the Infectious Hospitals Matrons' Association; Miss E. Brodie has succeeded Mrs. Strong as President of the Scottish Nurses' Association; and Miss Mercy Wilmshurst has succeeded Miss A. McWillie Peterkin as President of the Association of Queen's Superintendents.

The Florence Nightingale Advisory Committee.

The Florence Nightingale Advisory Committee, which met in March, 1934, agreed that a Scholarship of £250 should be a state of the state should be awarded to an English Student for the Interprevious page next page